I left my heart where we met these babies!

Posted: April 23, 2010 in Charity, Days and dates, Emotions, evaluation, happiness, health, hope, Love, Memories, Randoms, Reviews, Spirituality, Travel

An institution that takes care of homeless children was what my cousin and I hit a couple of days ago.  I’m not fully aware of all details, but what I know so far is that they offer these little ones shelter, nurse them, feed them, and take full responsibility of them ensuring a state of well being. Then they’re adopted by other families. The institution accepts charities in the form of medicine, blankets, baby food, nappies and stuff like that. The lady in charge was my cousin’s friend, and we were told that what they needed at the moment were nappies.

With the ‘Pampers’ in hand, we were off to a very soul nourishing visit. One which brought tears to my eyes. We met the lady. She seemed in her early 40s. I don’t recall much about her as I was super eager to meet the children. She lead us to the nursery. I didn’t really know what to expect. There was no picture to paint in my brain before I was to step into that door. I was only overcomed by a feeling of peace and as we approached that door, that feeling slowly grew.

I soon found myself in. I looked around me to find beautiful babies, glancing at me with nothing but sheer innocence and helplessness. The oldest wasn’t even a year old yet!  I teared as I smiled at their peaceful faces. I felt so bad for them. Really bad. I laid my eyes on Muhannad. He smiled as he stretched on his cradle. His smile never faded. I was soon introduced to Heba, the oldest, 10 months old Samy, and three more little ones. Their innocence was magical that I soon felt I was a baby myself.

Muhannad struggled to stand up. He clutched whatever that was around him as he did so. He started at me, and I soon understood that was his request to be carried. I found myself stretching my arms around his fragile body, and held him strongly as if he was mine. It felt beautiful. Super beautiful that it’s way beyound description. He grasped my shirt so tightly, and didn’t want to let go. We played, laughed, giggled, and had the time of our lives. I swung him in the air and every time I did his smile grew even wider, even more  adorable. So was Heba’s. So were everybody’s! 

This brought happiness to my heart. I knew I had lots of love to offer them, and these few hours weren’t quite enough. Not at all… It was time to wave goodbye and as we put them back to their cradles, the screamed their hearts out in a way that shredded my heart to pieces. I felt guilty having to let go, but we had to go.  It was heart-reinding. We stayed for a while untill they calmed down. Then we did go. We left. But that was where I left my heart. I left with hope of coming back sometime soon, very soon!

On hearing their stories, I was left to wonder how inhumane people could be!! How could parents discard their own flesh abd blood?? How unfair that was… How miserable, how cruel, how unbearable!! I wished I could do more than just that. I wished I could REALLY make them happy. It’s sad…

I’m not very sure I’m going to meet the same babies on my next visit, but I’m sure everytime I do, I shall feel alive. I shall feel the peace it brought into my soul. I shall add up a few more pictures to my box of memores, just like the ones I added this time…

Comments
  1. Adham says:

    Thank you for sharing this amazing expertness you had, but i don’t think you should call them “homeless children”!!. May i know where was that? And what was the name of the institution?

  2. Rana says:

    Well by “homeless” I didn’t mean to say that they’re inferior or anything, not at all! I was only stating their unfortunate case because some irresponsible parents decided to abandon them.
    That was in Egypt, somewhere called “daar al omouma wa al re3aya”
    I’m glad you liked it 🙂

  3. Adham says:

    Noted :), and thanks for suppling the information.

Leave a Reply

