As she whispered, hoping I’d forget

Posted: September 10, 2010 in communication, Emotions, evaluation, happiness, hope, Love, Memories, Randoms

She knows me best. She understands what I fail to explain. I’m not exaggerating, she’s a mum and I’m starting to believe mums have got superpowers!

It was one of those days when I lapsed into memories, thinking them out, looking for answers to questions I don’t even know, trying to understand, to explain a confusion that probably hadn’t existed in the first place. And I kept sinking deeply, aimlessly. I knew it was useless, but was there anything more useful to engage myself with back then?

She walked through the door, into the room, and peacefully towards me. Then, she whispered these words into my ears. Quietly, lovingly and motherly.

Stop fetching old books, stop opening them. They’re dusty from the outside, yellowish from the inside. Writings wouldn’t get any clearer. Let it go. Put it back. Lay it to rest.

She smiled, and so did I. I tried to deny the fact that I was still holding on to these old books, but my eyes failed me. She walked away and left me those words she never repeated.  She proposed a question to my head, and left me to wonder…

Why do I want to remember when I no longer care? No, it’s not remember, it’s “understand“, why do I want to understand when I no longer care? If the latter was valid, then wouldn’t the former be of no use, and any mean of applying it would be a waste of both time and opportunities?

I smile at myself, get up and walk away too, following her. I’ve wasted so much time already, and I’m not ready to waste some more. I leave the rotten books behind.

She’s given me a timeless strength. A power that she’s taught me through herself, and the strong person she is. She’s a treasure.

Comments
  1. weight says:

    yeah my dad will like this

  2. Rana says:

    ohyh tell me abt it xD

Leave a Reply

